SSC CGL Eligibility | Schedule | Syllabus PDF | Exam Pattern 



  SSC CGL  | Eligibility | Schedule | Syllabus | Exam Pattern 

Hello Students, SSC CGL is the most popular Exam in India in other words It is called the mini IAS. Many students start CGL preparation yet they don’t know what is CGL in other words, they don’t know the complete procedure of SSC CGL. Many students do not get success in CGL exam because of no knowledge of the procedure. Let’s understand the complete procedure of CGL.


In this blog, we are going to show each detail related to CGL for this reason we divide this blog under those subheadings.

Read More: SSC CGL in Hindi
Download: SSC CGL syllabus

Let’s get started…………………

SSC CGL Schedule

CGL exam is conducted once a year and the complete procedure takes 8 to 10 month. A candidate who wants to take the exam has to apply online through Before applying the first thing to remember is that you must read complete official notification in detail. At the time of filling an online application form, a few points must be remembered such as email id, the ability of required documents and the soft copy of candidate photo and sign.

All the updates related to CGL exam you may check not only on SSC website but also on your email id. This year CGL 2020 schedule is given in the index.

Read More: SSC CGL in Hindi
Download: SSC CGL syllabus

SSC CGL 2020 Schedule

Notification published and online registration start15/9/2020
Last date for online registration15/10/2020
Dates of Tier-I Examination (CBE)To Be notified soon
Dates of Tier-II (CBE) and Tier-III (Des.) ExaminationsTo Be notified soon



SSC CGL Eligibility

Eligibility is one of the most important factors. Friends, if you have a wish to take the CGL exam then you must read this paragraph to know the eligibility of SSC CGL. The CGL Qualification, has three important features these are

First Citizenship:- Candidate must be a citizen of India
Second Age Limit:- 18 to 27
Third Educational Qualification:- Graduation

Friends, if you want to know more about SSC CGL qualification in details then click this link.

Read More: SSC Eligibility

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

SSC Exam Pattern

Every year SSC conducts SSC CGL exam in 4 tiers and each tier is equally important and Another key point is that candidates have to pass all the tiers to get a job. The shot summary is given in the index moreover we will give you information about each tier in details.

The list of all Tiers

Tier  IObjective Multiple ChoiceOnline
Tier IIObjective Multiple ChoiceOnline
Tier IIIDescriptive Paper in English/HindiOffline
Tier IVSkill Test/Computer Proficiency TestApplicable


CGL Tier 1 Exam 

It is the first step of the exam. A few points must be remembered about CGL Tier 1 such as it is a multiple-choice (MCQ) exam. It is an online exam. It has 4 sections and each section has 25 questions so there are 100 questions and Each question carries 2 marks so the total is 200 marks. The subject-wise division of marks is given below and the last but not least there is negative marking in tier-1, for example, “One wrong answer to a question will cut 0.5 marks.” Under those circumstances, you must pass the tier 1 exam to qualify the tier 2 exam.

SectionSubjectNo of QuestionsMax MarksExam Duration
1General Intelligence and Reasoning255060 minutes
2General Awareness2550(For VH &Candidates of Cerebral Palsy
80 minutes)
3Quantitative Aptitude2550
4English Comprehension2550


 CGL Tier-2 Exam 

After passing the tier 1 exam it is important to realize that the game is not over because of tier 2. Tier 2 exam is also an objective exam and it is also conducted online. There are four sections in Tier 2 and each section has 100 questions but the English language has 200 questions. Each section, time and marks are the same 200 marks. The subject-wise details are given below.

PaperSubjectNo of QuestionsMax MarksExam Duration
1Quantitative Abilities1002002 Hours
2English Language2002002 Hours
3Statistics1002002 Hours
4General Studies (Finance & Economics)1002002 Hours


Read More: SSC CGL in Hindi
Download: SSC CGL syllabus

Before ending this paragraph we want to show you a few more information related to tier 2 exam to make your information strong. First, Paper 1 and paper 2 are compulsory for all posts and paper 3 is only for the post of “Statistical Investigator Gr. II” & “Compiler” and Paper-4 is only for the post of “Assistant Audit Officer”.

SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam Pattern

Friends, An officer is not only good in reading but also good in writing. Tier 3 exam purpose is to test the written skills of the candidates in English/Hindi. It is a descriptive exam and held offline. The candidates are required to write Essay / Letter / Precise /Application. To prepare the descriptive exam, a student needs to read lots of articles from various newspapers and magazines. Besides this, you need to know the latest pattern of letter and application writing. Last but not least about Tier 3 exam. The their-3 exam duration is of 60 minutes’ and it has 100 marks. It is just a qualifying exam.

CGL Tier 4 Exam Pattern & Syllabus

Gone are the days when SSC used to conduct interviews. Since 2016 SSC decided not to conduct interviews for CGL and most of the SSC posts became noninterviews post. But some posts want special skill so In spide of taking the interview, SSC introduced skill tests. Tier 4 Exam coupled with two tests, First DEST (Data Entry Speed Test) and CPT (Computer Proficiency Test). Skill tests are necessary for certain government posts.

CGL DEST (Data Entry Speed Test)

It is a qualifying skill test for all the posts, other than Compiler. This test purpose is to test the typing speed of the candidate. In this test, the candidates are given printed material in English. Candidates should type accurately the given printed material on a computer with a minimum of 2000 (two thousand) key depressions. The duration of this test is 15 minutes.

CGL CPT (Computer Proficiency Test)

CPT is a qualifying test. This test is conducted in three modules, First Word Processing, Second Spread Sheet and Last Generation of Slides. It is applicable for applicants of Assistants of CSS.

Read More: SSC CGL in Hindi
Download: SSC CGL syllabus

Friends, we hope this blog SSC CGL gave you complete information about the procedure of SSC CGL exam. In this blog, We are going to end our words. In the next blog, We will talk about other problems related to the Competitive exams.

Friends, if you liked this post or you got to learn something, then you should share this post with friends on social media.

Please tell us your feedback about this post

If you have any question then mail us:-

Our other Helpful Blog

How to prepare maths for competitive exams

How to prepare for government exams

Mental stress due to competitive exams

Click on the button to Like our page on Facebook:- 

Subscribe Exams’ Wrestlers Channel:-

Click here to Follow Exams’ Wrestlers on twitter:-

Thanks for Reading
Team EXAMS’ Wrestlers


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here